San Dieguito Academy to compete in Red Bull Riders Cup Surfing National Championship this weekend


Premier High School Surfing Series Finals to take place at Upper
Trestles in San Clemente on June 6-7

San Diego, California – (June 1st, 2009) – With San Dieguito Academy
winning the final Regional Championship in San Diego on May 28, the
stage is now set for the nation’s top eight surfing teams to face off
at the fourth annual Red Bull Riders Cup National Championship. On
June 6 and 7, the teams will take to the waves at San Clemente’s famed
Upper Trestles at San Onofre State Beach and battle it out to
determine the top high school surfing team in the country. Each of the
eight teams have already proven themselves as the best in their
region, as they fought through a long, competitive season, defeating
local rivals to earn their spot in the National Championship.

Red Bull Riders Cup is the nations’ premier high school surfing
competition, and brings together 34 high schools from eight regions to
compete in a single elimination “March-Madness” style tournament. The
Series utilizes the National Surf League’s “The Game” format, which
was modeled after team sports such as basketball, football, and
baseball. The Game format serves to bridge the gap between individual
sports like surfing and more fan-friendly team sports. This
revolutionary format includes: two teams competing against each other,
only one team in the water at a time, three periods, timeouts,
coaches, referees and substitutes.

In a year of upsets, the two teams who went toe to toe at the National
Championship finals last year – San Clemente High and eventually 2009
Champion Carlsbad High - were both eliminated in the regional
qualifiers by Newport Harbor High and San Dieguito Academy,
respectively. It was sweet revenge for San Dieguito Academy, who was
the 2007 National Champion, but was knocked out by Carlsbad High last

“The Red Bull Riders Cup and the NSL are happy to be back for our
fourth year,” said National Surfing League founder Brad Gerlach.
“We’ve seen some of the best surfing ever from all eight of these
teams this year, so it promises to be an exciting National
Championship. We’ve got some teams that are returning for their third
time hoping to win and some that have never even won a regional
qualifier, but are truly driven to go all the way…I think that makes
it anybody’s game.”

High schools participating in the National Championship include:

Aptos High School, winner of the Santa Cruz Regional Championship
Malibu High School, winner of the Golden State Regional Championship
Satellite High School, winner of the Central Florida Regional Championship
Mira Costa High School, winner of the South Bay Regional Championship
New Smyrna High School, winner of the North Florida Regional Championship
Ocean City High School, winner of the New Jersey Regional Championship
Newport Harbor High School, winner of the Orange County Regional Championship
San Dieguito Academy, winner of the San Diego Regional Championship

National Championship Game Schedule:
All times are tentative and subject to change. For updated Game times
go to

Saturday, June 6, 2009
8:00am-9:50am Qtr-Final # 1
10:20am-12:10pm Qtr-Final # 2
12:40pm- 2:30pm Qtr-Final # 3
3: 00 pm- 4:50pm Qtr-Final # 4

Sunday, June 7, 2009
8:00am-10:00am Semi-Final #1
10:30am-12:30pm Semi-Final #2
2:00pm-3:45pm FINAL
4:00pm- 4:30pm AWARDS

2009 Red Bull Riders Cup Overall Competition Schedule:
Mar 16-19 Santa Cruz Pleasure Point, Santa Cruz
Mar 24-26 Golden State Seaside Park (Surfers Point) Ventura
Mar 31-Apr 2 Central FL Pelican Beach Park
Apr 15-16 South Bay El Porto 45th St. Manhattan Beach
Apr 21-23 North FL New Smyrna/Ponce Inlet
May 4-9 New Jersey 3rd-9th street, Ocean City
May 19-21 Orange County Huntington Beach Pier
May 26-28 San Diego Seaside Reef
June 6-7 Championship Upper Trestles

The National Surf League and Red Bull have partnered to help bring the
sport of surfing to a new and exciting level. “The NSL and Red Bull
are both companies that are passionate about innovation and bringing
out the best performance in surfing. I am very excited to see how we
will grow and create a more entertaining and easier way to watch the
sport,” says NSL founder Brad Gerlach.

The NSL is a revolutionary competitive surfing organization
established in 2001 by legendary pro surfer, Brad Gerlach. The NSL is
dedicated to the pursuit of surfing excellence, building awareness for
the sport of surfing while creating a fun competitive landscape for
all types of surfers.

The Game™ Explained
Modeled after team sports such as Basketball, Football, and Baseball –
The Game™ turns an individual sport like surfing into fan-friendly
team sport

• Two teams against each other
• One team in the water at a time
• 3 Periods, Timeouts, Coaches, Referees
• Substitutes
• Rivalries
• Entertainment
• Real Surfing
• Game time: under two hours
• A scoreboard, continuous commentary, and scoring updates so the
crowd and television audience can easily follow the results

This entry was posted in Surf Events, Surf News at Seaside. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment